“Crossing to Safety” by Wallace Stegner (1987) – book review

To gratefully quote an Amazon reviewer :

“Probably not a book to read when you’re young – if I’d read this in my 20s, even my 30s, I don’t think I’d have got it – but for the middle-aged and slightly battered, a profoundly emotional read”.

Couldn’t agree more!! Slightly battered even on a good day these days… A gem of a book, again full of the best citations and a story that led to a very good old discussion at our book group. The story is all about friendship, how far these bonds can go, and how life can take you in directions you perhaps never expected. Wallace Stegner really does have a way with words :

“All days should begin as that one did. All life should be like the three weeks that followed”.

“I managed not to be too sympathetic with myself, for fear I would let out a bleat of pure self-pity”.

“He was like someone who had hurled himself at a door and found it made of paper”.

“We are lucky in our parents, teachers, experience, circumstances, friends, times, physical and mental endowment, or we are not”.

“It struck me in a way it had never struck me before (why not? why ever not?) how touching and attractive the gestures of human affection are”.

“Sally has a smile I would accept as my last view on earth”.

I think this book is a GREAT read, and hope to get to “Angle of Repose” before the decade is out, anyone recommend it?

Read in November 2014.

Rating : 10/10 – A FAVOURITE READ

Image taken from here.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Crossing to Safety” by Wallace Stegner (1987) – book review

  1. Monique P says:

    Have read both books, one after the other and enjoyed them both. A French friend of mine introduced me to Wallace Stegner and it was a complete surprise, nothing like previous American Fiction. Just read a review saying that Stegner is hardly known outside of the US, and even there not a very well known author. I think he writes beautifully about lives and relationships in less accessible states of the US, far away from the glitz of NYC. Would have happily reread one or the other for book group! I think there is a story of revenge in Angle of Repose that took me by surprise and left me wondering, rereading the last chapters, tell us what you think if you read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agree with you 100% Monique. The A of R won the Pulitzer too back in the Seventies, so aching to get to read it soon………x

    Like

  3. Pingback: Book Group I – Paris Evening Group | Literary ramblings etc

  4. Pingback: “Revolutionary Road” by Richard Yates (1961) – book review | Literary ramblings etc

Leave a Reply

