“The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy” by Rachel Joyce (2014) – if you read nothing else this year…

If you haven’t yet read “The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry”, please just drop everything and get hold of a copy.

If you have, but haven’t come across the companion novel, recounting the parallel, life-affirming journey of Queenie Hennessy, likewise please drop everything and be prepared for something really, really special. This second read, by necessity a consequence of the first, is even better, even more wonderful. T.S. Eliot would have been proud.

By the by, you HAVE to read Harold first, otherwise it doesn’t work. Maybe even with a gap in between.

Rachel Joyce explains that she initially had no intention of returning to the story, but what a joy that she did. As she says, “it is not a sequel…or a prequel… (it is) a book that sits alongside ‘Harold Fry’. They really should come that way – her in the passenger seat, him in the driving seat. Side by side.”

This is a perfect book – it makes you chuckle, in fact makes you laugh, and then it moves you, sometimes to tears.  Totally enriching and humbling all at the same time.

“The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy” is quite simply a beautiful thing – at times like a fable, but smacks so much of the everyday too. Please read it!

Rating : 10/10 – A FAVOURITE BOOK

Image taken from here.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy” by Rachel Joyce (2014) – if you read nothing else this year…

  1. TimPa59 says:

    Will read both just as soon as poss!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Harold first, then Queenie, otherwise it doesn’t work. Then thoughts on one, other and/or both s’il te plaît to see if am waxing lyrical and going soft in my old age, or if you too see the charm and gorgeousness of these two books. Am just so happy to have picked Queenie up, particularly as I had read “Perfect” in between and that really didn’t appeal anywhere near as much as Harold, so I could have missed this treasure all too easily. Waxing lyrical again…

    Like

  3. Julie says:

    As someone who was as mad about Harold as you were, Queenie and I urgently need to get together….

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t wait to know what you think of Queenie in her world, Julie, especially I came to Mr Fry thanks to you, and as we both read it a little while back we have had time to ‘digest’ the world Harold inhabits, as it were. I do hope you enjoy it. xx

      Like

  4. tomthesnail says:

    Ok 😀 will add Harold to the TBR list sounds like a must read. I read “The 100 year old man who climbed out of the window” which was brilliant and then the less brilliant “The girl who saved the king of Sweden”. After that I probably went back to the murder/thriller genre… Bypassing poor old Harold 😀 TTS

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I do you hope you enjoy it. I wasn’t wild about the 100 year old man, I really enjoyed the whole beginning chapters but then it became a bit too much of a stretch for me, so I haven’t moved onto the King of Sweden. But loved, loved, loved Harold and if you do like him I think you will find Queenie really worth examining too. Keep me posted!

    Like

  6. Lucy says:

    I didn’t know this existed!! ‘Harold’ was one of those books I found myself trying to push onto other people, it was an intoxicating read, so many of us dream of actually just stepping out the door and going (although I’d have taken more in the way of clean underwear, but then that’s not the point 😉 )
    I must get this book, NOW!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I enjoyed Harold so much that I wasn’t sure I wanted to risk not loving Queenie as much, and it’s got a very different tone because of what we already know and where it is located. But I hope you too will fall equally as heavily in love with this alternative journey. Some of the things you write on your blog make me burst out laughing and it is the same with this, mixed up with all sorts of other emotions. Very slightly a “bit of a stretch”, but really didn’t care as was just so caught up with this very clever and totally brilliant companion. Let me know what you think. I’m back to pushing this book onto people in the meantime! x

    Like

  8. Angie says:

    I loved the first book and have had it in my mind to read Queens story but haven’t as of yet got around to it. Thanks for reminding me. From your review, it sounds just as wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I was wary about writing too much because I think everyone is bound to have a slightly different take on this darker but absolutely hilarious and wonderful book, depending on their own journey – but I think a lover of Harold is likely to be just as enamoured with Queenie – in fact, perhaps even more. I’m so happy I came across it, as I’m so full of admiration for what Rachel Joyce has done! Will look forward to hearing what you think of it in due course x

    Like

  10. Loved Harold and can’t wait to read Queenie. We are snowed in today, so I am luxuriating in your amazing blog, and trying to come up with some really good reads for gifts for the girls and Ron. From that big, beautiful brain of yours, swirling with literary knowledge, can you make some recommendations? One for Cate, one for Clara, and one for Ron. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

