“May We Be Forgiven” by A. M. Homes (2012) – book review

Delectation. The dysfunctional (in this case, American) family, and a total blast.

The first thirty pages are just phenomenal, and I thought the ensuing tale was really terrific. I absolutely loved this book, in case you can’t tell.

It spoils nothing, but can best be summed up by a taste of some of the gems within :

” ‘Middle management,’ Aunt Lilian blurts, ‘that’s all he ever was. There was always someone above him who he hated, and someone below that he took it out on.’  ”

“He pauses. ‘Can I ask you, what is your relationship to God?’ ‘Limited,’ I say. ‘Limited with the exception of spontaneous prayer in times of acute distress.’  ”

“I don’t know what to do, and so I adopt what I call the ‘Thumper Pose’, one hand on the chin and brow furrowed. In Bambi, Thumper says ‘If you can’t say something nice, then don’t say anything at all.’ ”

“If it weren’t for the children, the dog, the cat, the kittens, the plants, I would come completely undone.” (Hear hear).

And towards the end of the book and still I promise not hampering anyone who has yet to discover it,

“Stay, I tell myself, as I take a breath. Stay here, in the moment. And I breathe again – deeply… I look down the table and see young and old talking, passing platters of turkey and stuffing, sweet and savory, embracing the season.”

Oh how I loved this book.

Read in 2013.

Rating : 10/10 – A FAVOURITE READ

Winner of the 2013 Baileys (formerly Orange) Women’s Prize for Fiction

Image taken from here.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “May We Be Forgiven” by A. M. Homes (2012) – book review

  1. FictionTimes.com says:
  2. Pingback: Setting the Bailey’s challenge | Literary ramblings etc

  3. Terry says:

    Oh me too, I loved this book too so much. And as you say, the first 30 pages. What a rollercoaster.
    Dark and funny but not cruel – perfect combination. Terry

    Like

    • Hi Terry, completely agree – it’s never cruel but is at times very very funny and I defy anyone not to find those first thirty pages unputdownable. Any future recommendations ? Nx

      Like

      • Terry says:

        Hi N yes its hard to find dark and funny without cruel. Some of the smartest most gripping reads are really grim. I’m always on the lookout for authors who combine smart with a bit of compassion. And if they’re funny too – hooray!! Here are some I’ve loved which have maybe been sad but had redeeming features. Tx
        ADDITION BY TONY JORDAN lovely story about girl who’s obsessed with counting
        THE MARRIAGE PLOT JEFFREY EUGINIDES
        STORMY WEATHER BY CARL HIASSAN
        PEACE LIKE A RIVER BY LIEF ENGER
        JACK MAGGS BY PETER CAREY
        A SHORT GENTLEMAN BY IAN CANTOR

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m making a Wish List, these are the first books to go on it – THANK YOU

    Like

  5. Pingback: “The Goldfinch” by Donna Tartt (2013) – book review | Literary ramblings etc

Leave a Reply

